A huge undertaking for a novice baker

Ok, so send me well wishes this weekend as I attempt to make this cake for Easter.  http://wickedgoodkitchen.com/white-velvet-layer-cake-with-strawberry-raspberry-mascarpone-buttercream/

I’m pretty sure this is what dreams are made of; fluffy dollops of pink frosting, moist layers of cake with the words “buttercream” and “white velvet” in for good measure.

Now this lady is a pro.  Like, really.  I mean, she gives directions (4 pages worth) for the cake part alone!  Everything from the room temperature for the eggs, to how to pipe the beautifully frosted rosettes is addressed in this post.  I am secretly envious.  Oh, not of her baking skills, (well, yeah, that too) but her great attention to detail and possibly, her attention span!  Sadly, many of my recipes, while really delicious, end up as more of an “add a dash of this and a pinch of that” instead of a well measured and calculated recipe due to my mind that tends to wander when I pass the 15 minute mark. 😉  Anyway, I have completed step 1.  (Visualize the pout on my face as I tell you…)  I did not skim the foam from my sauce, nor did I use a fine sieve to press the pureed berries to rid them of their seeds.  Darn, I have already failed in mimicking her recipe, but I have hope that it will still be amazing!

However, I DID wind up with a beautiful sauce, seeds and all and even had some left over to top my greek yogurt this afternoon.

I modified her recipe because I could not find raspberries at the store.  And as I mentioned, I did not strain or de-foam. 🙂  My version goes like this:

Strawberry Sauce for this awesome cake I WILL make for Easter.

3 cups berries

1/2 cup organic cane sugar

1 tsp lemon juice

I pulsated the strawberries for not even 3 seconds in my favorite kitchen accessory, the NutriBullet, to get a quick, pureed consistency.  Then I added the mix and the lemon juice in a pan and heated to a boil.  Reduced the heat and then added the sugar and cooked over medium heat for about 10 minutes.

So, you’ll have to come back and check on me after Easter to see how the cake came out…deal?

Homemade Strawberry sauce eastercake2 eastercake3

One comment

Leave a Reply

