A cake for dad

Sounds like a good movie title, huh? 🙂

Well, this is a little overdue, but I made this delicious German Chocolate Cake for my dad’s birthday a couple of weeks ago.  And let me preface with this; it was my first time baking in my new “old” home, complete with a circa 1950’s oven, and…my first German Chocolate Cake from scratch.  So, as you can see from the photo below, things turned out pretty darn well I’d say!

This is a great recipe I found on Allrecipes.com.  http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Willard-Family-German-Chocolate-Cake/

Ok, and here’s another kicker for you; I made this “German” chocolate cake without the German chocolate baking squares.  I’m chuckling to myself at the irony, but it turned out really fantastic with a substitution of chocolate chips instead.

I added the “drizzle” too which was really easy to do; melt some chocolate and a little coconut oil in a bowl in the micro or a pan over the stove.

My “Granny” used to make this for my dad’s birthday every year when he was a child.  I wish I had her recipe, but I can only imagine how wonderful it was.  Meanwhile, I send out loving thoughts for my dad – I’m so glad I was able to do this for you this year.  You see, it’s been years and years since we lived close enough to spend the birthdays together as a family.  So, this past celebration was very special to me and I wish you many more happy, and healthy years, dad!  I love you!

 

20141003_201705

4 comments

  1. Wow, that cake looks so delicious- mouth watering! German Chocolate cake is one of my favorite cakes. And how special of you to have made it for your dad. Reading that last part of this post brought tears to my eyes too. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

