a sensual experience

I love food.  And I also love summer.  So, naturally, I love summer foods.  How many of you have had the pleasurable experience of eating something so delicious, so bursting with flavor that you ate it with your eyes closed and savored each and every morsel?  Today I did that.  I’m sure I’ve done it many times before, but today, it seemed like a mini getaway.

Fresh, summer produce gets me excited.  Meandering through the rows of gorgeous plant matter at the farmers market is such a treat.  This past week, I carefully picked out my peppers to roast because nothing says summer to me like roasted peppers.  After living in Colorado, famous for their incredible southwestern influenced roasted chili peppers, I knew I had to find an equivalent in NJ.  Alas, they don’t roast peppers at the farmers market here, but they have some great choices to take home and roast my own!

Today I used New Jersey “long hots”, sliced them up, and put them on a baking sheet with some olive oil.  I also cut up some fresh onions and beets to add to my roasting pan.  The smell of roasted peppers and onions is simply sinful!  I roasted in the oven for about 15-20 minutes; just until they are browned and soft-at about 350 degrees.

Now here comes the cool part-the meal!  I made some massaged and oiled kale (which is by far the best way to eat the stuff), tossed it with some fresh tomato, an ear of fresh, raw corn cut off the cob, a sprinkling of sesame seeds, some almonds for protein, some delightfully pungent goat cheese and then topped off my salad with the roasted veggies right out of the oven.  And of course, a sprinkling of coarse sea salt and pepper.

Voila!  Roasted farmers market veggie salad!  You can use almost any veggie to roast and top your salad; mushrooms, cauliflower or even broccoli make for some good choices and it’s such a filling and satisfying meal.

20140804_180628

One comment

Leave a Reply

