Variations on a 5 ingredient soup

I must admit that every time I write from my heart, baring my soul on here, I end up with the least amount of likes! Oh well. I will keep doing it anyway, because it’s really about me and creative expression; this blog, right? But for today, I will get back to some simple but helpful recipes.

My new thing this winter has been soup. Of course because the heat of the food is so comforting but also, it can be filling and very healthful. I’m not talking about heavily preserved slop in a can, but homemade soup and it’s easier than you think!

Here are the basics you will need for any variation:

Broth (you can use veggie, beef, chicken or even a good quality dry soup mix-you will need 2 cans or a carton which I like because cartons are usually BPA free, a nasty substance and hormone disruptor)
**a side note, I am appalled at the amount of broths out there that have MSG (monosodium glutamate) which is another nasty chemical substance used to flavor food. It’s an excitotoxin, which can cause cell damage or cell death – leading to various diseases such as Parkinson’s, Lou Gehrigs’ and even immediate side effects such as headache, nausea and the list goes on.

Veggies (this is fun since you can really clean out your fridge here! I have used anything from leftover roasted cauliflower, to the end of a bag of fresh spinach and cole slaw. Chop up the veggies and add a lot. Remember, they will only add vitamins, nutrients and more liquid, so you can add at least 4 cups here.)
**some additional variations could be a frozen bag of broccoli, chopped onions and peppers, even the celery and carrots at the bottom of the drawer. If you have time, try sautéing your harder veggies in olive oil and minced garlic to add depth and more flavor!)

Protein
-my favorites have been making mini meatballs from either ground turkey (which will need to be seasoned) or I squish out the sausage from their casing. No need to bread or mix up anything with this idea! Just roll into tiny balls and plop into your hot broth!
-other ideas could be, leftover chopped chicken, or even leftover shrimp. The sky is the limit.
**I haven’t tried making this with tofu or beans, but I’m sure this could be a good vegan alternative.

Carbohydrate
-Now I originally used an organic orzo which made for a nice thickening of the soup, but I have also used quinoa for more protein and both plain rice and rice pasta. The last of these, I didn’t like so much because the gluten free pasta broke down and made it too gelatinous.
**if you choose to make this Paleo, then you can easily up your meat addition and then ignore this step.

Seasoning
Here is another addition you can do. I like to add a can of seasoned tomatoes to give more bulk and flavor. If you don’t want to, just season it to your hearts desire.

Bring broth to a low boil, drop in the meatballs if uncooked and cook until they float (about 5 minutes, the smaller size the better and more even cooking). Then add everything else. Cook over medium low heat until all veggies and noodles/rice are tender or to the consistency you like. Season to taste and serve.

Let me know your thoughts! Do you have a favorite winter soup?

20140128_161102

7 comments

  1. way to go! Great looking soup. We are about to have a homemade turkey soup with added orzo , onions garlic and leftover broccoli and green beans

  2. i’m a huge fan of soup, too! sucks you don’t get as many “likes” when you share your personal stories, but definitely still share them! you are right – this blog is for you 🙂 and i personally love reading other people’s personal stories.

Leave a Reply

