How to keep your sanity during the winter!

It’s no surprise I’ve experienced depression this winter. A lack of sunlight, social stimulation and bitter cold temps have brought out the “bear” in me. I’ve wanted to do nothing but eat and hibernate the last several weeks. However, life must go on, icy sidewalks or not, and I have had to motivate myself to just get out of the house. No job has meant no daily talks with friends around the coffee pot which I came to depend on, and both Tiger and Mugsy don’t have good conversational skills. (my boxers 🙂 ) What’s worse is that the east coast has become immobilized several times this year already with these terrible storms. So, that meant no venturing out even to shop or go to exercise! Anyway, time to wake up and get out there. I need to find work and get moving in order to make 2014 the “best year ever” as I promised myself.
So, check this out. While peering between the vertical blinds at the blowing snow last night, instead of cursing the weather once again, I thought I’d take out some old photos and “warm” myself up with cherished memories of sunny days and happy vacations.
Next time you’re feeling down, pull out some pictures or old movies of better times. They can help jog your memory into remembering feelings of excitement, joy and happiness. This reallllllly helped me! I loved mentally strolling down the beach in St. John and even smelling the imaginary wildflowers from our special springtime hikes in Colorado. I feel so good in fact, I’m opening a new savings account to work towards a Caribbean vaca for our big anniversary next year! Now, that’s a goal I can look forward to with great anticipation! If you like flowers, fill your home with fresh flowers to bring forth a feeling of springtime, or save a pretty graphic on your computer as wallpaper. Or if you love sitting on a warm, sunny rock by a lake, plan it and then go there and do it! As soon as it’s warm enough. 🙂

Better days are ahead my friends! Even if you only see the black clouds today, tomorrow is a new day full of hope. If you aren’t familiar with the Bible at all, one thing that is constantly talked about is hope. Hope drives us and God promises that there will always be better days ahead. So, pull out those photos and maybe even create a small goal. Be it “save up enough money to buy new trail hiking shoes” or “take sailing lessons so I can sail a boat this summer”, get the goals out there. And on paper! Seeing it written is very powerful.

Now, I hope you will enjoy some of my favorite photos that brought me inner warmth and happiness today!

Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Longs Peak, Colorado
Longs Peak, Colorado
St. John, US Virgin Islands
St. John, US Virgin Islands
Bass Lake, Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado
Bass Lake, Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado
sunflowers, Longmont, Colorado
sunflowers, Longmont, Colorado
Miami, Florida
Miami, Florida
Cane Bay, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Cane Bay, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
8 comments

  1. Wow, these photos are gorgeous. Yes, the east coast weather was a real drag this year, as was much of the country. Spring was never more welcome, even though we spent two weeks of it in the hospital with Matt. I’m looking forward to a few months of sunshine, and I’ll try not to complain when it gets hot…

Leave a Reply

