healthy hot cocoa to warm you up!

This is a gift from me to you; all you who are suffering from these frigid temps! And anyone else, I might add, who wants the most rockin’ hot cocoa recipe ever! Cocoa is a great thing to enjoy in the winter as it is a minor mood lifter and who doesn’t need that during these long, dark days? It’s also key to note here, that warming spices such as ginger, black pepper and cinnamon are great for circulation and help us to feel warmer.
I was needing a pick me up and something to motivate me into getting back to that “To Do” list this afternoon…this did the trick and was delicious to boot.
You can make this vegan by using coconut milk, which is what I originally planned, but organic whole milk is just as divine.

Spicy and Healthy Hot Cocoa

1 c coconut milk or organic milk
2 tb organic cocoa or raw cacao powder
1/2 ts (if you dare!) black pepper (mine was perfect with this amount because I wanted it spicy but you can reduce to 1/4 ts)
1/4 ts ground cloves
1/4 ts ground ginger
1/4 ts cinnamon
2 tb (or to taste) coconut sugar (or a natural sugar such as turbinado or sucanat are good choices)

Whisk over medium low heat until warm and sugars have dissolved. Pour into warmed mugs and enjoy!

20140129_135019

4 comments

  1. actually made get up and make some for me and the little guy… although I did make ours a little on the plain side just chocolate and vanilla and cinnamon and mini marshmallows.. thanks for the post it is warming us up as you get this

  2. Almost dreaming of a cold winter evening staring at the fireplace and sipping your hot chocolate!!!
    I am on the other side of the planet…in New Caledonia for the winter ….but no….it’s summer time here….ok you know what, I am skipping the fireplace and sipping your great recipe…
    Thank you for sharing your DIY recipe. I will come back often to check on your delights recipes.
    France

Leave a Reply

