Protein bombs!

So, I think I got it. I am not going to label my blog anymore with the whole, “week one, day 2 blah blah blah” thing anymore. It’s ruining my creativity by making me feel rigid and legalistic. And although I will stick to 52 weeks of creative projects, who says I can’t do more than one a week? So there, ppphhh. 🙂
Ok, moving on! In light of this whole “snowmageddon” thing bearing down on the east coast today, I got a bunch of house chores done. There is nothing to energize and motivate a woman like a rapidly approaching deadline and mine was the first snowflake sighting! I managed to get my daily devotional/prayer time done, the dogs bathed, 4 loads of wash, dusting of the whole house, made my new muffins (as you will see below), booger patrol (which is cleaning off the wads of drool and food from the dogs that land on those poor walls and baseboards), vacuuming and the floors washed. It’s only a 3 bedroom, 1 bath house but still, go me!
Sometimes I secretly love housework. You know, the gratifying feeling of scrubbing the dirt and washing it down the drain; the smell of “clean” and the stiffness in your back knowing you have a clean house to relax in at the end of the day. And sometimes I think I would make a great stay at home mom, but God must have other plans for me instead of raising children and taking care of a house. Sigh. Oh well.

Anyway, I created this awesome recipe!

Protein Bomb Mini Muffins

6 sausage links precooked and chopped finely (this recipe can be made vegetarian with either some tofu sausage or extra veggies, but be sure to spice it up more!)
4 eggs
1/2 c shredded cheese
1/2 – 3/4 c cooked quinoa (I used a tricolor, but you can use any)
3/4 c finely chopped veggies of your choice (I used cauliflower, broccoli and a few baby carrots)
1/3 c gluten free flour or regular is fine
1/4 c milk
seasonings of your choice (I used onion powder and garlic powder along with salt and pepper)

Grease your muffin tins well or use paper cups. Mix all ingredients well and fill cups evenly. Bake at about 325 for 10-12 minutes for mini muffins and if you use regular muffin size, try 12-15 minutes but watch for browning.

20140121_083349

20140121_093652

4 comments

Leave a Reply

