January 1 – Week 1 – A new beginning and a new project!

Happy New Year everyone!
2014 is a year of more “getting unstuck” for me. However, as I said in my post yesterday, this year I plan to dig deeper with my projects and creativity. I hope to learn more about myself and what I’m good at or even what I shouldn’t ever try again. (Remember the glass etching episode from last year?)
So, bear with me as I try to figure out what format I should use this year. Whether it’s a once a week project post or a before and after type of post, I don’t know. But for today, I will start out by showing you my plan for the coming week.

Week 1 – step ladder make over!
I plan to take this cute little step ladder and make it pretty. Sand off the layers of caulk that somehow landed on the rungs and make it girly! Whoops, sorry mom. I forgot to tell you I took your ladder. 🙂

20140101_115606

I will also show you some delightful photos as a “added bonus” today. Is my husband in heaven or what?? How’s this for a New Year’s Feast…
Bacon wrapped Lil Smokies and Shrimp coated in St. Louis BBQ and South Carolina Smokin’ Hot Sauces, accompanied by Mini Twice Baked Stuffed Potatoes. Perfect for bowl game watching today, eh?

20131231_182847

20131231_183147
Easy directions too: cut some bacon strips in half, wrap your sausages and shrimp in them. Lay in foil lined baking pan and brush with bbq sauce or teriyaki is good, too. You can skewer them with toothpicks; I just didn’t have any on hand. Bake at around 350 for 20-30 minutes, making sure to attend to and flip over with tongs as it browns.
Next, take some mini red potatoes, bake in oven until soft. Remove and when cool enough to handle, scoop out about 1/2 of each of the inside. Put into a bowl and mix in some sour cream, shredded cheese, finely chopped broccoli and salt/pepper. Next, spoon back into each potato a nice, heaping spoonful of the mixture and arrange on a foil lined pan. Top with additional shredded cheese and green onion or chives. Bake just until cheese melts nicely.

So, there you have it. Day 1, Week 1 and God knows what’s in store for me and this blog over the next 365 days! I might get lonely and blog every day again…haha.

Best wishes for a peaceful and very blessed 2014 to each and every one of you!

Leave a Reply

