Day 348 – gluten free bars

Shhhhh! Don’t tell anyone but I am eating a soft, chewy gluten free gingerbread bar with lemon frosting right now…sigh. I can’t help it this time of year. I simply love gingerbread and I promise I will resume this once a week sugar thing later…in January. 🙂

20131220_151955Recipe:

Gluten Free Gingerbread Bars

3/4 c melted butter
1/2 c sugar
1/2 brown sugar
1/4 c molasses
1 egg
2 c gluten free flour (I used Bobs Red Mill All Purpose)
2 ts baking soda (I would add less because my bars puffed up too much and flowed over like lava as you can see from the photo)
20131220_141655
1 ts cinnamon
1/2 ts salt
1/2 ts ginger
1/2 ts cloves
1/2 ts black pepper (my secret to a stellar gingerbread!)

Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting

4 oz softened cream cheese
2 Tb softened butter
2 c powdered sugar
1 Tb lemon juice
1 ts lemon zest

Mix melted butter, sugar and molasses in a mixer-beat until combined. Add egg and beat until smooth. In a separate bowl, mix the dry ingreds-then add to the wet ingredients and mix until smooth. Spread into a greased 9 x 9 pan (which I did NOT do, hence the lava flow. The jelly roll pan was probably too shallow). Bake for 15-20 minutes at 350 until fork comes out clean. Let cool completely before frosting.
Next, mix all frosting ingreds together until smooth. Spread on cooled bars.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

