Day 311 – a nice surprise…

I’m speechless…and that take a lot to quiet this gal down! I can’t believe how much I love this new recipe I created. I was going to just make Caramelized Fennel since I’ve never cooked fennel before, but I wanted to turn it into a meal.
So I cooked my first fennel bulb. This was something I’ve always wanted to try. I sliced it up thinly and sautéed until brown in about 1/4 cup of olive oil.
20131112_163839
Meanwhile I toasted a handful of raw almonds in the oven. Sheesh! Nothing like toasted almonds to make your meal taste elegant!
Once the fennel was done, I spooned it over rice in a bowl, topped with the toasted almonds and added about 1/4 c of dried cranberries for another layer of flavor, bringing out the sweetness in the fennel.

YUMMMM!!!20131112_171857

Leave a Reply

