Day 309 – homemade tooth powder

When I was a teenager and the braces came off, I became obsessed with oral hygiene. I don’t know how I knew, but I knew about the secrets of baking powder and salt for a light “scrubbing” for the teeth. I would do this often for that Dentist office clean feeling.
I finally made some flavored tooth powders. Here are two I tried today and I love them!

Cinnamon and Clove Tooth Powder
2 tb finely ground salt
3 tb baking soda
(bentonite clay optional)
1/4 ts cloves and 1/4 cinnamon
1 ts coconut oil (optional but a good antibacterial cleanser)

Mash up and mix until thoroughly mixed. Put in container.

Minty Tooth Powder

same as above, omit the coconut oil and substitute drops of peppermint essential oil for the cinnamon and cloves. Mix together.

20131108_084925

2 comments

  1. I’ve been wanting to make something like this. Lately I’ve been using straight baking soda…but the salty flavor isn’t pleasant after a while. I don’t have peppermint oil so I’m going to try the cinnamon and cloves recipe. Thanks again!:)

Leave a Reply

