Day 306 – doggie treats

I was going to make you drool over these delicious looking treats…they look just like moist, sugary peanut butter cookies, don’t they?

20131105_161103

But they aren’t! They are homemade pumpkin peanut butter doggie biscuits. And the dogs LOVED them. I even ate a couple since they smelled so good baking in the oven. šŸ™‚

20131105_160440

I was appalled after shopping this past weekend at the pet store. You know the big one with the cute doggie cookie bar up front where you can buy a huge assortment by the pound. Well, upon closer inspection I realized these pink Oreo looking things were LOADED with sugar! What the heck??? In fact, a seemingly healthy carrot-shaped cookie had sugar listed as the second ingredient! So that’s when I realized I needed to make some of my own treats. I mean come on. Dogs don’t need sugar-they just want something that smells great and if it’s good for them, even better. I hope to sell some soon after I’ve come up with my own version.
Here is the original recipe: http://www.mybakingaddiction.com/homemade-dog-treats/

2 comments

  1. How cute are those! And I enjoyed your picture with you munching on some & the dogs watching. They such cute pups too. I have actually been wanting to make some homemade dog treats, and I have pumpkin puree and peanut butter so I think I’ll make a batch of these today. Thanks for sharing the recipe! (I might just have to try a bit also…just to see how they taste) šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

