Day 302 – homemade pumpkin spice latte

I thought I’d revisit this project from several months ago; the coveted autumn treat: pumpkin spice latte. I was so upset the other day trying to find a coffee shop such as a Starbucks or Dunkin’ Donuts within a convenient and short drive that I marched right home after my “latte-less” outing and created my own.

20131102_140459

This was by far the best one I’ve ever made! Making your own flavoring puts you in charge of the sweetness and you can avoid all the nasty stuff they usually have like high fructose corn syrup and artificial colorings.
I tried the Betty Crocker recipe and it was divine!
http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/pumpkin-spice-latte/a1ef6f8d-3c99-4b9d-86e4-25bdb1c46846

Of course I used coconut sugar instead of white sugar, adding to a deeper flavor and a healthier latte. I also used my own roasted pumpkin guts, so I had to actually blend it a bit and then strain it. Overall, I will be doing this again…and again…and again… 🙂

Leave a Reply

