Day 300 – pumpkin custard

Holy cow! It’s day 300? I can’t believe I only have 65 more projects to do this year. It’s been quite a journey and I have a feeling the Lord isn’t done with me yet. I have a feeling He has some surprises up His heavenly sleeve for me over the next few weeks. Not sure what, but I’m ready!
Today I used only a fraction of that huge pumpkin that I roasted…I’m sure I can do several more recipes if the mood strikes. But today, I was craving something sweet and healthy at the same time. This pumpkin custard is like pumpkin pie without the crust. Moist and creamy, spicy and sweet.

This is roughly what I did:

Pumpkin Custard

2 cups pumpkin puree
1/2 c milk (substitute almond or coconut milk to make this paleo friendly)
2 eggs
2 ts pumpkin pie spice
dash of black pepper
1/3-1/2 c coconut sugar (or brown sugar) more or less to taste

Combine and pour into baking dish. Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes.

So, some of the other things I’ve done with this pumpkin from the other day are; mix in 2 heaping spoons into a pasta dish for extra vitamins and of course my other favorite, I added 2 heaping spoons of it into 1/2 c plain greek yogurt with 1 tb cocoa powder and some honey. Whirl up for a delicious pumpkin chocolate “mousse”.

20131030_174054

20131030_170531

Leave a Reply

