Day 289 – autumn soup

What better way to enjoy a crisp fall day than with a batch of Butternut Squash Soup. Haha, I can say that now, but I had never made it before today. It’s a great and incredibly easy way to get some good vitamins and minerals as well as fiber. My mom has been making this for a while so I finally broke down and made some. It’s hard to mess this recipe up when all it takes is 1 medium butternut squash, 1 can of chicken (or veggie) broth and either a drizzle of coconut oil or some crispy fried onions. Cook the squash in the oven or buy it frozen in chunks (precooked). When cool, scoop it out into a blender and add your broth. Blend it up, heat over the stove or in the microwave and top with your fave topping. I also want to try it with crushed nuts or some grated parmesan cheese.
Yum!
20131020_142408

20131021_165745

2 comments

Leave a comment