Day 244 – end of summer salad

20130905_135557

Greetings this fine, September day…I just created this delightful salad entitled, “Kathy’s end of summer rockin’ rutabaga salad”. How’s that for a mouthful? Speaking of mouthfuls, wait until you shove a spoon of this in your pie-hole…holy deliciousness! I was aiming for a salad recipe I saw in a Women’s Day magazine, but couldn’t find turnips, and well, a little hard cheese doesn’t hurt anyone either.

Kathy’s End of Summer Rockin’ Rutabaga Salad

1 pint cherry or grape tomatoes (I used both yellow and red)
1/2-3/4 c shredded rutabaga (I pooped out after fighting with the grater at about 1/2 c)
1/3 c shredded Asiago cheese
2 small cucumbers, chopped
1 green bell pepper
about 1/4 c olive oil and a dash of white vinegar
salt and pepper to taste

Mix all ingredients well and chill.
I’m not sure what exactly I’m tasting, but something tastes sweet and I love how it balances out the bitterness of the rutabaga and the bite of the bell pepper.

Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

