Day 219 – chocolate for your skin!

3 Ingredients

Mixed Cocoa Mask

My dear friend Catherine is my guinea pig today! She tested and tried a chocolate facial mask for me and here are her findings.

“I am ADDICTED to chocolate! I know, I know. You’re thinking, what?! A woman who’s addicted to chocolate? I’ve never heard of such a thing. Yes, it’s a bit cliché but true. I like……..wait, no that’s not a strong enough word. I LOVE chocolate so much I even use it in facial masks! Now there’s a big difference between eating so much you get it all over your face & actually meaning to put it on your face. Either way it gets there, it’s great for your skin.

What are the benefits you say?
• Cocoa is rich in antioxidants, richer in fact than red wine or green tea (Regardless, I still adore my red wine ). The antioxidants will help repair skin cells, neutralize harmful free radicals (That’s totally RAD!!) & clear out toxins in your skin.
• The natural oils from cocoa powder also help smooth out fine lines & wrinkles over time, leaving the skin soft & younger looking. Who doesn’t want that?!

Along with the wonderful benefits of cocoa, the other ingredients are equally as wonderful.
Coconut Oil
• Full of essential nutrients for your skin
• Great antiseptic & antimicrobial agent.
• It is also proven to soften wrinkles & help clear acne.
Honey
• Incredibly moisturizing but will not break you out.
• Suitable for all skin types
• A natural antibacterial & anti-fungal agent (great for acne prone skin).
• Soaks up the impurities & helps detox the skin.

Here’s the recipe I used last night & I’ve gotta tell ya, my skin looks & feels aMAZing!

4 tablespoons natural or organic cocoa powder
1 ½ tablespoon of natural raw honey (preferably local)
1 ½ tablespoon of organic coconut oil (melted) *

*Coconut oil melts at a very low temperature. So low as a matter of fact that it will melt just touching your skin. I put the coconut oil in a small glass bowl & microwave for about 5-7 seconds. You can use the same bowl to mix the remaining ingredients.

Directions:
Wash your face with your regular product before doing the mask. You want to remove all makeup & icky’s from the day first.
Mix all the ingredients together. The mask should be a paste like consistency so add a tiny bit more cocoa powder if needed. Apply to your skin with either clean fingertips or a soft facial brush. Leave on skin for 15-20 minutes. Remove with warm water and follow up with a toner & a very light moisturizer.”

Thanks Catherine-I’m sure my followers are eager to test out your recipe!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

