Day 218 – chocolate for your health

By now, I’m sure you’ve heard that chocolate is all the rage in the health world. Not only is if full of antioxidants, but new studies show it may benefit your brain! Can you say, duh? Those of us who partake in this substance daily, could have told you that! No seriously though, a daily Snickers or handful of M&M’s doesn’t count. 🙂

Let’s take a deeper look at chocolate, cacao and cocoa.

What is chocolate? According to Wikipedia, chocolate is a processed and sweetened food produced from the seed from the theobroma cacao tree. This tree is native to the tropical regions of South and Central America. However, the Ivory Coast in Africa contributes the highest percentage of commercially grown cacao today.

What is cacao? Cacao is the raw substance from the cacao tree before it’s turned into that chocolate bar or cup of hot cocoa. Raw cacao powder is very similar to cocoa powder, but it has retained a lot if its health properties which is why it is a great substance for smoothies or snacks. Raw cacao even has a higher antioxidant rating than blueberries, acai or even goji berries.

What is white chocolate? White chocolate isn’t chocolate at all. It is made from cocoa butter (which is the fatty substance obtained from the cocoa beans), sugar, milk solids and other additives usually.

I start every morning with a raw cacao smoothie. I find it gives me energy and yet, satisfies my craving for something sweet. With all the nutritional benefits raw cacao has, I can feel confident that I’m doing something good for my body, even if it tastes good. 🙂

5 comments

  1. Great job on the daily posting! I KNOW how hard it is to keep it going without any breaks! Do you know of any others (besides us) who are posting every single day? I must try some raw cacao; I like to put cocoa powder on my ice cream, in my coffee, etc. but wasn’t sure whether there was an even healthier alternative. Thanks for the tip!

    • Hi Julia, I need to snoop around WordPress a little more because I think I’ve seen a couple others that blog daily. Good job on yours-I know its really hard some days, but keep up the great work!

  2. Right. The conventional sugary chocolate that candy is made out of definitely doesn’t count as health food. (“Delicious” does not mean something is good for you, foolish sheeple.) Personally, I find chocolate candy gives me a quick high, but then I feel lethargic and unmotivated for the next few hours. (Real 100% fruit juice never does this, even though it also is sweet. Go figure what’s different about the two.)

    Raw cacao sounds interesting. Perhaps raw cacao is to normal chocolate what real fruit juice is to Kool-Aid?

    • Hi Matthew, glad you stopped by my blog and I hope you find a chance to try raw cacao. It tastes just like cocoa powder, maybe a bit stronger of a chocolate taste. You can sweeten it yourself with honey or sugar and mix in milk for a healthier hot cocoa. You can find it readily online or I get mine at Whole Paycheck, I mean, Whole Foods. 🙂

Leave a Reply

