Day 194 – part two!

I’ve been stressed lately and when I get stressed, I eat. Unfortunately. đŸ™‚ However, this time I put my creativity to work and made a delicious (and dare I say, almost healthy) recipe instead of grabbing a pack of chocolate donuts at the store!
This is my favorite gluten free recipe of all time. I based it off of something very similar that I tried while on a “girls getaway” with my sister to the mountain town of Steamboat Springs a couple years ago.
I’m sharing my “secret recipe” with you-hope you enjoy!

20130714_200904

Gluten Free Carrot Cupcakes (or Muffins or cake…) with Cream Cheese Frosting

1 c coconut sugar
2 eggs
1 c gluten free flour (brown rice or all purpose are my favorite choices)
1 ts baking soda
1/4 crushed pineapple (drained)
1/2 c melted coconut oil
1 1/2 c grated carrots
1/2 ts salt
1 ts cinnamon

Mix together sugar and oil. Then add eggs and continue to mix well.

Add grated carrots. Slowly stir in flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.

Add pineapple and mix well.

Grease muffin tins or a 9 x 9 pan and add the batter. Bake at 350 for muffins/cupcakes or about 400 for a cake. Make sure to watch and use the toothpick to judge when they are done. About 15 min for cupcakes or 20-30 for a cake.

Cream Cheese Frosting

1 1/2 (8 oz packages) of cream cheese, softened
1/3 c honey
2 tb vanilla flavored agave or add 2 tb of honey and then 2 ts of vanilla extract

Mix together until fluffy and frost cooled cake.

I hope you enjoy!!! NO refined sugars and coconut oil instead of butter or other oils is an awesome substitute.

20130714_201437

20130714_201244

Leave a comment