Day 177 – back to my old tricks

20130629_134845

“What is she doing?” You might ask while viewing this latest post. I know, I know, health week is over and here I am, posting a new kale recipe! Well, I could NOT resist sharing with you!
I think the reason most people don’t like kale is because of those tough “ribs” that never seem to get soft enough when you cook them. At least that’s one of the reasons I didn’t like kale for so long. Or maybe it’s too slimy for you. But please, you must have heard all the hubbub by now about how leafy green vegetables were gone from our American diets for so long and they are really the best of the best for you-we should allllllllll know what kale, chard or even mustard greens are. And gone are the days of Popeye’s nasty, brownish-green, canned spinach.
There are tons of recipes out there to sneak these nutritional powerhouses into your diet. Salads, stir-frys…heck, you can shred some up and toss in your pasta sauce and not even bat an eye at the difference in flavor.

Well, when my sister recommended this new way of preparing kale, I was intrigued. I have gotten to love kale and feel so refreshed and energetic after eating it, but hold the phone people! I was not expecting to love this as much as I did!

You can easily substitute your favorite pesto recipe with kale for the basil leaves. Or, you can try my spin on it.
Kale Pesto

4-5 large kale leaves, torn/cut into small pieces and de-ribbed
1/4 c olive oil (more or less to get the right consistency)
1/2 ts salt
1/2 ts pepper
1-2 ts lemon juice (depending on your taste)
1/4 c parmesan cheese (substitute dairy free cheese for a vegan alternative)
1/2 c macadamia nuts (that’s right, I used macadamias instead of pine nuts or walnuts!) whoohoo-fancy!

Blend up in your food processor. You can make adjustments with the liquid and oil if it’s too thick-or add more cheese and kale if it’s too thin.

Voila! Spread this green delight on crackers, toss some in a quinoa salad, you name it. The sky is the limit and it’s an easy way to get more greens in your diet.

Leave a Reply

