Day 173 – oh, little sprout

So far, health week is going great. I am pleasantly surprised at how my recipes and health tips are turning out. Today you will get a 2 for 1 in this post! The benefits of sprouts and how to sprout them plus a great sprout recipe!
Over the last few days, I have been sprouting sunflower seeds. I am not new to sprouting beans and such, but I haven’t done sunflower seeds before and this was interesting. There are two schools of thought with them however, either sprout them until the green comes out or just until they barely sprout the “tail”. I opted for somewhere in between. 🙂

sprouts3

My sprouts took about 3 days to get to this level of growth and they are tasty! Did you know that sprouts contain the highest concentration of nutrition in any food? Meaning, you eat less and get more! Just 3 oz of sunflower sprouts contains 22 g of protein. How cool!
Basic sprouting instructions:

1/2 c of any type of bean or seed. Sunflower seeds will need to be hulled and raw please. (I’ve used sunflower seeds, adzuki beans, lentils)
rinse and sort if there are any nasty bits
put into a container and cover just barely with water.
You will want to rinse the water out every 12 hours at a minimum.

Watch for growth and take out when you want. In dry Colorado, it usually takes at least 3 days for a basic sprouting. I prefer to eat my sprouts raw on salads, as soup toppers etc. Except for one of my favorite dishes, sauteed sprouts and onions!

I happen to have a batch of lentils that I sprouted for this recipe, but tossed half of my sunflowers into it. DELISH!

Sauteed sprouts and onions

Put a couple tb of olive oil in your saute pan, add the onions and cook until just soft. Then add the sprouts and you will want to cook until they are soft, about 5 min. I added about 1/4 c of homemade chicken broth to this (you could use veggie broth or nothing at all) and cooked down. Season to taste. It’s a very lovely, nutty texture and nutty in taste, too.

Hope you liked this posting today. Cheers to your health!

sprouts2

Leave a Reply

