Day 168 – Writing tips

Today I wanted to do something a little different and talk to you about writing. I work in accounting, I work with numbers and spreadsheets and data…I die a little bit every day 😦 because I am a word girl! When I write, a part of me comes alive again. I love how a single word can paint an entire picture in your mind. We talk and communicate with words, not numbers, unless you know of an alien subculture that does this that I’m not aware of and I watch a lot of Sci-Fi!
Anyway, blogging is a wonderful art form for the writer to express themselves to the unseen world in a way that’s very freeing. I mean, I have no idea who’s out there and reading my posts on any given day! Kinda freaky and kinda cool. Most importantly, I get to be me. Not what my office mates or even my family wants me to be, but just little ol’ me.
I am a stickler for decent grammar and definitely good spelling, but don’t let this inhibit you from expressing yourself through writing! My creative writing teacher in high school (you know who you are, Mr. Croop!) really helped me find enjoyment in writing. We got to write stories on whatever we wanted. I remember specifically writing about my love for goth music and graveyards at the time; how cool was that? To be encouraged to write about what you love? And yes, today it would be more about puppies, God and my dream beach villa but I digress.

So, here are my top tips to get you started. 🙂

1. Journaling is great. It’s a casual way to get used to your writing style. Pick a cute journal or notebook that you will want to write in.
2. Write EVERY day. The more consistent you get, the better you get. It’s funny how my writing has really tuned up through this blog and it flows so much easier now!
3. At a loss for words? Get outside! Whether it’s physically going outside or just going outside your usual “norm”, just do it. The change in scenery always seems to open my brain and I become refreshed and ready to write.
4. Have fun with it! If it’s not fun, then don’t do it. But if you really want to become a better writer, consistency is the key and try to enjoy it, too.

2 comments

  1. yay, Kathy! Love this one (as a word person myself). And I love how eclectic your creative ventures are. The handkerchief filler (modesty panel) is brilliant. My mother has quite a collection of old handkerchiefs from family estates … Hmmmmmm!

Leave a Reply

