Day 156-Oil pulling

20130602_182343
Little did I know this past January, some 150 ish days ago, that I’d be swishing a wad of coconut oil around in my mouth as a “detoxifying” experience. Today, (actually the last few days) I have been trying the ancient Ayurvedic healing art of “oil pulling”. Oil pulling has been around for hundreds of years and has been touted as a somewhat miracle cure, albeit, not a quick magic pill. The first thing you will see is a noticeable change in dental health; pinker gums, whiter teeth and fresher breath. Next, if done regularly, “supposedly” it can help with many chronic illnesses. I have been trying this the last few days and I can’t say I see an immediate difference in my health, but I will continue to give it a shot in hopes to see some good results.
Instructions:

take a spoonful of oil (preferably organic-sesame, olive, coconut are good choices) and swish around in your mouth like you would a mouthwash, but keep in your mouth for 5-20 minutes. The experts say do this first thing in the morning which I have not done, nor have I made it past 5 minutes. DO NOT SWALLOW this oil. The enzymes in your body are working to carry out the toxins and it collects in the oil. You will want to spit it out in the trash or toilet, not down the drain as the oil can solidify in your pipes. And be sure to rinse your mouth completely afterwards.

I am not a physician. I am merely bringing the information to you, so I’m not sure if it will work with your specific health concerns. However, I will continue to use myself as a guinea pig and report back my results in another couple weeks.

Leave a Reply

