Day 152 – cobbler or crumble?

First, the bad news. I had an uncomfortable evening after taking off my eye makeup with the coconut oil as was recommended…I still feel a little “irritated” today, but I haven’t given up on the beautiful sheen I had on my face. Will continue to play with it, just watch it around the eyes!

berries2

berries1
Secondly, today’s post is about making lemonade out of lemons. This was supposed to be a post about the most incredible gluten free shortbread. The dough tasted perfect, the
crumbles still taste perfect, but the cookies spread out in the oven like an egg on a hot New Orleans sidewalk in July!
berries3
Needless to say, I was very disappointed but didn’t want to waste them. Some of you professional bakers can give me tips for next time, pretty please? I think it was too hot in my kitchen, that along with warm hands, probably melted the butter before they even got in the oven. Maybe I will try again and chill them first? We chilled the dough as the recipe stated, but didn’t “re-chill” again after forming into balls and flattening on the baking sheets.
Oh well. Anyway, my sister actually came up with the good idea to make a berry cobbler/crumble thing out of them. This was a great idea, but after putting it in the oven for about 20 minutes, we decided they were too plain. So we then added a quick sour cream “drizzle” for it. Now, I can enjoy the “lemonade”!

Berry Cobbler

2 bags frozen organic mixed berries
1 batch crumbled gluten free shortbread (original recipe, see here: http://www.food.com/recipe/gluten-free-melt-in-your-mouth-shortbread-146414 )

Topping

1/2 c sour cream
3-4 tb coconut sugar (more or less to taste)
1-2 tb milk (enough to make it drizzle but not too much)
1/2 ts vanilla

Mix berries in pan, cover with shortbread crumbs and bake at 350 for about 20 min. Then, mix together the sour cream, milk, vanilla and sugar and drizzle on top.

Can anyone educate me as to whether this is officially a “crumble” or a “cobbler”?

Leave a Reply

