Day 133 – Girly pampering day!

Today I am so excited to present my first guest blogger! Catherine Basile is a dear friend of mine and has been one of my biggest supporters, so why not have her share a few of her own ideas? Thanks for giving her a warm welcome and take it away, Catherine!

Over the last few years I have slowly forgotten one of the most important things in life; take care of yourself first!! Now I’m not saying I’ve just thrown my arms up & said “meh, screw it”, but what I’ve done is not allowed myself to take the time for ME! Pampering yourself is one of the most important things to do & let’s face it, it feels great, too. I boldly decided on New Year’s Eve to make this a year for me. In a mildly incoherent state of mind I told myself “I’m going to get at least 1 massage a month, I’m going to get facials & manicures, I’m joining a gym, I’m going to blah blah blah………” Well I quickly realized in my excitement of the new year that those things take money & that is something I don’t have a whole lot of. So in an effort to continue on the “me” path, without having to get a personal loan from the bank, I started doing research for inexpensive but effective DIY ideas for facials & helpful hints for relaxing. Here are two of my favorites so far. I hope you find them helpful to your life & enjoyable.

Banana Mask 1

Banana Mask

1 tbsp raw honey
1 ripe organic banana
10 drops Lemon juice

If you suffer from allergies as most of us do around Colorado, use local raw honey for this mask. Believe it or not, your skin reacts to the seasonal allergies as well & this will help calm the red dryness. Use a ripe ORGANIC banana! The goal here is to be all natural & keep chemicals off your skin. The banana helps nourish and the honey absorbs & retains moisture, hydrating the skin & enhancing your natural glow. Lastly, a touch of lemon juice exfoliates the skin, reducing the appearance of scars and acne. Mash the banana well then add honey & lemon, mixing well. After washing makeup off your face, apply the banana mixture to your face & leave on for 10 mins. This is a good time to lay back & relax! Rinse with warm water & a soft washcloth. Follow with an oil free moisturizer.
Hand Mask 3
Hand Mask 4
Hand & Foot Mask

2 tbsp fine sugar or salt
1 tbsp raw honey
1 raw egg yolk OR 1 tbsp Olive Oil
1 tbsp full fat cream – You could use soy or almond milk instead

Wash hands before doing the mask so you get all the dirt & oil off. Mix all the ingredients in small bowl & stir well. Before applying to hands &/or feet, make sure the gloves, plastic bags or saran wrap is ready to go for wrapping once the mask is applied. I learned this little trick the hard way! Over the sink, apply a generous layer of the mask to your feet or hands & massage as you spread it over your skin. If you’re super lucky, get someone to do it for you. Now that is truly being pampered! Now put on the gloves or cover with saran wrap/plastic bags. Sit back & relax for 15 mins. Rinse with warm water & follow with moisturizing hand or foot cream. Your hands & feet are left feeling super soft! If you are looking for some fun ways to change up this mask, add your favorite essential oils.

You can store leftovers of either mask in an air tight container & refrigerate for up to 1 week.

Thanks Catherine! You’ve inspired me to do one tonight!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

