Day 125 – writing a book

Have you thought about writing a book from time to time? I know I have. I love writing in case you can’t tell that by now. 🙂 Well, when I found out that a long, lost friend (whom I reconnected on Facebook a few years ago) just wrote a book, I knew I had to do a post on it.
Renee Carlino and I worked together in San Diego for a music publisher about 11 years ago. A truly awesome place for the young women we were, bikinis under our t-shirts and shorts were the norm since we were in the call center answering phones. Cool music blaring…and being located not 5 minutes from the ocean made things better after even the worst customer phone call.
It’s been fun reconnecting with this talented and beautiful woman. It has also inspired me to just “go for it”; to follow what you know in your heart is what you were meant to do with your life. The reason you were created. We all have skills and talents and sometimes it takes more perseverance to keep after it until you see success. But it will always happen if you follow your heart, what’s really deep down in there, and never give up.

KB: Renee, I loved your book! Can you tell me how you decided to get into writing?
>
> RC: Thank you, I’m so glad you liked it. I’ve always dreamed about writing book. I’ve written a lot short stories and poems and even a screenplay, but with Sweet Thing, once I started, I couldn’t stop; I was attached to the characters.
>
> KB: What was self publishing like and do you have any tips for someone who wants to get published?
>
> RC: Self publishing is arduous and heart-wrenching and anxiety-inducing but it gives you the ultimate control. Self publishing is essentially free, but I think putting the best possible product out is the only way to achieve any success this way. I hired professional editors, a professional formatter and a cover designer. I didn’t take any short cuts because I wanted my book to have the bookstore quality.
>
> KB: Your two main characters are both charming and so real; did you have an inspiration for them or the situation they were in?
>
> RC: I was inspired by a few different musicians for Will and I watched a lot of youtube videos of musical performances. The big ideas were mostly inspired by my love of the East Village, cafés, music and young love.
>
> KB: What can we expect next from you?
>
> RC: I’m working on a scene from Sweet Thing in Will’s point of view, but I also have a work in progress titled “You for Me.”

KB: Without giving away anything about the story I want to say, I totally want to be Mia; young, independent, strong-willed and beautiful. And I think I am in love with Will. 🙂 He is everything a woman could ask for; a hot musician with a tender heart! How did you make these characters so real?

RC: First of all, thank you; that is a huge compliment. Will and Mia are real in my mind, they are both a little bit of me and my husband, but mostly they evolved into their own people. It’s hard to explain, but I feel like I could literally run into Will on the street. His personality manifested from characteristics I not only found attractive but also admirable so I’m having a hard time letting him go. Maybe we’ll see more of Will, I hope so.

So, there you have it. A quick chat with an up and coming writer along with a couple tips for self publishing. Here is a link to her book on Amazon too. You won’t be disappointed! http://www.amazon.com/Sweet-Thing-Renee-Carlino/dp/0989138607

Leave a Reply

