Day 97 – PB & J muffins

pbj1

pbj
These little bundles of nutty goodness are pretty good. They are gluten free if you use gf oats and are packed with protein and fiber. Over the weekend, I found them in an old Women’s Day magazine or Family Circle, I forgot which. So, here is the recipe I tweaked a little to fit my desires.
I would compare it more with a Clif bar or protein bar consistency rather than a muffin. They are very dense but I really liked them. Great for a quick morning snack.

Peanut Butter and Jelly Muffins

1 c peanut butter
1/3 c maple syrup
4 c gluten free oats
1/2 c sunflower seeds
1/2 c cooked quinoa
1 jar of jam/jelly (I used simply fruit which has no added sugar)

Mix the peanut butter, jam and maple syrup over medium heat until melted and smooth. Add in the dry ingredients-stir well.
Put into muffin tins (I used mini muffin tins so I would have smaller bites) and the batter will be very thick and lumpy. You will have to press down in each muffin cup. Bake for about 20-25 minutes at 350.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

