Day 89 – strange new veggie!

sunchokes2

sunchokes

lamb
I hope you had a wonderful day yesterday, wherever you are! It was a beautiful Easter Sunday in Colorado complete with a 2 week old lamb at our sunrise service.

So, today I want to introduce you to a new vegetable; the sunchoke, also known as the Jerusalem artichoke. I saw this strange looking package last weekend at the grocery store and thought I’d give it a whirl. I hate to say, they sat in my fridge for a week, but wow. What a cool flavor. They are a member of the sunflower family and taste similar to sunflower seeds; mixed with a potato type texture. Really good roasted and I mixed them with roasted cauliflower for our Easter side dish. Soooo good! The other cool thing is that despite how they look, they have relatively no starch, so that’s a good thing.

Have a wonderful first day of April!

6 comments

Leave a Reply

