Day 84 – twist on kale chips

kale 1
Good morning world! I have a new ingredient that I am enjoying experimenting with; nutritional yeast. If you haven’t heard of it, you’re most likely a carnivore and don’t need additional protein. This is an ingredient that a lot of vegan recipes will use in order to bring about a cheesy, nutty flavor. I purposely didn’t blog about my first experience with this yellow, flaky substance because I used it to make Vegan Mac N Cheese and it sucked! I didn’t really get the whole no cheese in mac n cheese thing, but I gave it a good try and it didn’t come out too well. However, nutritional yeast is a good source of B vitamins and has some protein, so it’s a great option for vegans.
Anyway, now on to today’s selection! I made regular old kale chips but topped them with a light dusting of nutritional yeast…ooooh! I love it! It adds just enough depth and taste to them, boring ol’ kale leaves.

Kathy’s Kale Chips

-2 large heads of organic curly kale, ripped into pieces and be sure to take out the hard middle stalks
-salt, pepper, other seasonings, oil and nutritional yeast

Toss in a large bowl with lots of oil, a teeny bit of salt, whatever other seasonings you’d like (I like to stick to the basics only) and then add a couple tablespoons of the yeast.

Spread out on baking sheets and bake at about 325-350 for about 10 – 15 min. The texture should be dry and crispy, not soggy and also, not burnt.

Leave a Reply

