Day 81 – chicken

20130323_124916

20130323_125238

20130323_141700
Well, with the amounts of snow that built up overnight, the last thing I wanted to do was crawl out of bed this morning and embark on my weekly 7 am grocery shopping trip. So, I didn’t! I curled up on the couch with the dogs and read chapters and chapters of a book about French life and cooking…of course, I got the cooking itch!
This is in no way indicative of the gastronomic delights from the book, but rather, my own creation out of things I had laying around since I didn’t venture to the store today. I hate using premade anything, but the french onion dip of my husband’s just had to go into something.
I made a chicken with onions.

Chicken with Onions

1 large organic chicken breast (or 2 small breasts)
2 onions sliced
butter to saute with and butter your pan
some white wine
garlic powder
dried thyme
onion powder
black pepper
salt
french onion dip (or sour cream with some onion soup mix or dehydrated onion)

Saute your onions in butter and add the seasonings, cooking until soft-add about 1/2 c of wine and deglaze the pan. Butter the bottom of the baking dish, plop the chicken in, cover with the french onion dip or sour cream with onion mix/dehydrated onion. Top with the onion mix and bake for about 30-40 min at 350.
Not fancy but sure was yummy!

Leave a Reply

