Day 78 – fabric modpodge?

fabric boxes (2)

fabric boxes (1)

fabric boxes
This project turned out pretty cute, however, I am in need of your help. I had a nice soap box made of cardboard that I have wanted to cover forever. Now, I’m not sure how I like the end result. I covered it with a fabric scrap that I love but for some reason, I am not digging the “finish”. I used modpodge to glue it on the box and now it’s all scratchy and hard. Does anyone know of a good coating or finishing product to make it not so stiff? I mean I want it to stay adhered, but the texture feels like sandpaper. Hhhhmmmm…a modpodge mystery! I’m happy to hear from you if you know of a product that will help make it smoother or softer.

Thanks for supporting me through my project wins and fails! I’m on Day 78 of my year long blog and it’s been a real journey thus far. I’m continuing to find my creativity and am so thankful to be getting back to my true self. God willing, I’ll be a whole new person by the end of 2013. I also hope I’m helping you or at least entertaining you while I stumble my way through some crazy ideas!

Peace!

4 comments

  1. Cute! I’ve been reading sewing/crafting books (that I checked out from the library) all day, and one of the books actually had a recipe for homemade modpodge. It said to use 1 part white school glue to 2 parts water and mix really good. I did a google search for homemade modpodge and found a site that said to use equal parts white glue to water ratio. However, I did read a comment that said for fabric they like a thicker consistency so they used 2 parts glue to 1 part water. I think that white school glue is cheap enough to play around with the consistencies until it works for you (and it’s much cheaper than modpodge). Hope that helps! đŸ™‚
    ~Jen

  2. I agree. I like to use watered down Elmers glue for tissue paper anyway. I love your project today. I’m amazed at your dedication! Keep it coming!

Leave a Reply

