Day 75 – another sugar substitute…

20130317_140250

20130317_140350
I mentioned last week during my post about the natural sugars that I would try Xylitol, a sugar substitute and get back to you with my findings. Well, I love it, kinda! The one thing that is slightly scary is the disclaimer that it can cause diarrhea in certain individuals or if you eat too much. I made it through adding it to my coffee and tasted a teaspoon with no problems. If you chew sugarless gum regularly, chances are you eat xylitol on a daily basis. It’s in most sugarless gums because it’s actually good for oral health.
Xylitol is a sugar alcohol found in most fruits and vegetables. It is low glycemic and tastes EXACTLY like sugar! However, it is a highly processed product. In order to get xylitol, they crush fibers from corncobs or trees, and use a multi-chemical process to extract the end result. So I may like the taste, but I’m not exactly sold on it.
However, it’s 1/3 less calories than sugar and if you really need a sweetener that tastes like regular sugar, this might be a good alternative for you in small amounts. I repeat, in small amounts. I have heard of certain individuals who are struck with cramping and gastrointestinal distress after eating it.
Well, that’s my take on Xylitol. Questions? 🙂

Leave a Reply

