Day 71 – decadence at its finest!

turn2

turn1
I may be a health coach, but I’m not afraid of fat. I put heavy cream in my coffee and spread butter (all organic though!) on my gluten free waffles. I am not one of those who believes in depriving oneself from the finer pleasures in life. My philosophy is life is short, but I also believe in making the lives we have as healthy and enjoyable as possible. This means I say no to soda, fast food and most processed foods. Most of our meals are made from scratch and from local ingredients whenever possible. I value the way my body feels after a vigorous workout and I drink tons of water.

That being stated, we all deserve a treat sometimes and this is a special treat for you. One of our favorite family recipes…Mushroom Turnovers. I wanted to call this our secret recipe, but that wouldn’t be true since it’s taken from an old cookbook, Colorado Cache, by the Junior League, published in 1978.
This would be an impressive appetizer at your Easter brunch or a dinner gathering. It is so yummy I could wear the smell of the fragrant mushrooms bathing in butter and thyme as perfume. Please use organic dairy products if you can, and although I didn’t try this gluten free, I’m sure you can substitute the flour with gluten free flour. So, without further delay…

Mushroom Turnovers

Pastry:
9 oz cream cheese at room temperature (I have gotten away with using the regular 8 oz pack with no problem)
1/2 c butter, room temperature
1 1/2 c flour
1/2 ts salt

Filling:
3 tb butter
1 onion, finely chopped
1/4 ts ground thyme
1/2 ts salt
1/2 ts pepper
2 tb flour
1/4 c sour cream
1/2 lb finely chopped mushrooms

1 egg and 1 ts milk for brushing the tops

Makes roughly 3 dozen
Mix cream cheese and butter thoroughly. Add flour and salt and work until smooth. Chill well for at least 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 450. Roll dough into 1/8 inch thickness on lightly floured surface and cut into rounds with either a biscuit cutter or a 3 inch wide mouthed glass.
In a skillet, heat butter, add onion and brown. Add mushrooms and cook about 3 minutes. Add seasonings and sprinkle with flour. Stir in sour cream and cook gently until thickened. Place 1 teaspoon of filling on each dough round and fold dough over. Press edges together with a fork. Place on greased cookie sheet and brush the tops with the egg mis. Bake 10-15 minutes or until lightly browned.

Enjoy!

3 comments

  1. OMGosh I want these so bad now. You’ve awakened a quiet section of my brain that has been reserved for these turnovers. Thanks for the reminder of this recipe.

Leave a Reply

