Day 17 – Get some zzzzzz’s!

Ok, I love getting older, wiser, but this no sleeping biz is for the birds!  It’s probably a combination of several things; allergies, hormones, hubby’s crazy work schedule, but I’ve been on the hunt for sleep aids-and not anything pharmceutical, thank you!

Enter in the latest Pin I tried:  The 8 Minute Workout; Yoga For Better Sleep, via, Fitness Magazine.  

Here’s how the conversation went in my head on day one:

“Ok, I will try this.  There’s no way it will work.  This child’s pose is for the birds, all I can smell is the dust in this carpet, great, now I need to vacuum tomorrow.  I wish I took my melatonin tonight.  Oh well.”

8 hours later, I woke up thinking, “see?  I knew it wasn’t going to work, oh wait, it’s 5:14 am and my alarm is going off in about 5 minutes, well…hhmmm.. maybe I slept so well because I was exhausted (still skeptical).  Still, sleep is sleep and I am grateful.”

Enter Day 2 (last night):

“ok, I’ll slow these moves down a bit, maybe I rushed too much last night”

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz – 7 hours later, “whoah!  Cool-I slept almost the whole time!  Maybe there’s something to this yoga thing.”

I really do love yoga, but a lot of times I find myself growing a little impatient during the extended poses.  However, this really opened my eyes to how good it is for your body and best of all, it calms your mind which is the key to a lot of nighttime restlessness.

The 5 poses they recommend for better sleep are:

1. upside down relaxation pose-put your butt up against the wall (or close to it) and put your legs up the wall so you’re in an L shape.  Breathe in and out deeply for about 1-2 minutes.

2. the spinal twist- sitting cross legged, turn your body to the left-crossing your right hand over to your left knee and turn to look over your left shoulder, repeat other side.  Deep breaths and relax into the stretch.

3. nighttime goddess stretch-you lay on your back, put the soles of your feet together and let your knees flop out to the sides.  Deep breaths for about a minute.  If you aren’t flexible, you can put a pillow under your knees.

4. childs pose-a common resting pose in yoga, you sit on your heels and tops of your feet and lean over forward so your forehead is on the floor-extend arms over your head on the floor and relax into a nice elongated stretch.  Deep breaths for about 1-2 minutes.

5. The rockabye roll.  This one I wasn’t so sure about but it must have a lulling effect.  Lay on your back, pull knees into chest and cross your arms in front of your shins and rock back and forth from a laying down position to a sitting position.  So, you’re rocking up onto your butt.  Do this for about a minute and make sure you’re on something soft like a mat for your back and spine’s sake.

Go to bed and let the calming effects take over your mind and body!  If you try this, please let me know how it works for you!

No photos today-kinda hard to take a pic while I’m sleeping. 🙂

Original source:  http://www.fitnessmagazine.com/workout/yoga/poses/yoga-routine-before-sleep/

3 comments

  1. I was curious about this but yoga sounds to painful for my aching body… i would have to start slow. And maybe i can get Edward to try so he’ll sleep through the night since hes the main reason Im not sleeping!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

