Day 11 – what to do with those extra veggies and fruits

What you are looking at in the photo is about $40 worth of fruits and veggies that are about to expire.  Not go bad, just expire which usually means they aren’t that crisp and juicy.  What am I going to do with them?  Juice the heck out of them instead of throwing them away!  I could cook some of it, but I personally love fresh juice. 

Have you taken the plunge yet and started juicing?  It’s SOOOO easy and such a no brainer way to get your fruits and veggies for the day.  You can make a million different combinations, but I usually just stick anything I have together and see what I come up with.  And please don’t be scared of juicing greens!  You can hardly taste them when you put something sweet like apple or orange in there.  Seriously, this is good stuff. 

For this juice, I pulverized approximately 8 large carrots, 1 lb of spinach, 1/2 lb of salad greens, 1 apple, 3 oranges and 1 lb of celery.  I skipped the limes and lemons and some of the apples for another day. 

It’s such a great way to clear out the fridge and your body will thank you!

4 comments

  1. What kind of appliance do you use? I don’t have anything to use for juicing, but I am seriously considering getting something so I can do it at home.

    Unfortunately, I live in Mexico, and we most likely don’t have the same product options available in our stores or for purchase where delivery by mail is available. Fortunately, I live in Mexico, where juicing is MUCH more popular than it is in the United States, so we have stores that do it for you and sell fresh juices of various kinds. You can get them plain, mixed with milk, or mixed with yogurt.

    I want to be able to make my own at home because (1) I can control the quality of what I’m running through the juicer, and (2) I can juice things that are not common, even in Mexico (juice of celery, beet, spinach and cactus are popular here). I am having problems with an ulcer and recently read that cabbage juice is helpful for repairing ulcer damage. I have not found any place yet that serves fresh cabbage juice, so that started me thinking that maybe getting my own wouldn’t be a bad idea.

    In a more general note, I want to commend you on your general plan to try to help people eat more vegetables. Over the years, I have heard personal testimony of how eating more vegetables (switching to a vegan diet, or consuming a certain amount of raw fruits/vegetables each day) has changed people’s lives in amazing ways. I’m a scientific skeptic, but most of these stories have come from unexpected sources that I trust, and have shocking outcomes: elimination of rheumatoid arthritis, slowing or stopping the progression of cancer, etc. Others have less dramatic stories, like the clearing up of persistent acne or having more energy throughout the day, but the bottom line is clear: eating more vegetables (and it seems the fresher the better), is really good for one.

    • Hi Chris! Yes yes yes! Fruits and Veggies definitely have healing properties. I am a holistic health coach and am consistently touting the benefits especially of juicing. I even have a first hand account of a friend of mine’s mother who has been completely healed from Stage 3 lung cancer through organic juices and a vegan lifestyle. It’s not for everyone though, but I applaud you for looking into it. I think you will be pleasantly surprised at how much better you will feel.
      I actually got my cheapo juicer at Walmart-it’s a plain old GE, but it does the job! However, I also have a short cut for you that you might want to try before investing in a juicer.
      You can put the cabbage with a little water in a blender, blend it really well, then you can strain out the juice with either a paint strainer, a fine sieve or something like a nylon hose. Really squeeze out the juice. The cabbage juice might taste a little strong, so you can to add an apple, pear or melon to the juice which are safe for your ulcer.
      Good luck and let me know if you have any more questions!

  2. I have to admit, I am a little trepidatious about the flavor of cabbage juice. I am prepared to mix it with other juice if need be, but in this case, I consider it like taking a medicine, not some juice I’d drink for enjoyment. Yet it’s one thing to say that, and another to down a quart (I think it was) of the stuff a day.

    Oh, and I’m sorry if it came across that I was lecturing you about the benefits of fruits and vegetables; you’re obviously a pro at that kind of stuff. I just wanted to reinforce what you were saying to your readers, because I agree with you 100%. Eat more fruits and vegetables, folks!

Leave a Reply

